Back In The Game – Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

I haven’t really been cooking anything NEW recently. I’ve been cooking a lot but really just the same ol’, same ol’. Like cauliflower purée for a party, or beef stew for dinner, or baked chicken with roasted veggies. Great food…just nothing new.

And then my amazing friend Wes gave me an instant pot. And I’m experimenting. Tonight I made butternut squash soup.

It’s been raining for days and more than half of our house is sick…what is better than a rich, satisfying, warm soup? 


I’m not going to into too many details about cooking with the instant pot but instead I’ll tell you the ingredients. 

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs peeled and cubes butternut squash
  • 2 gala apples cubed (peel on)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2″ of fresh ginger
  • 2 tsps of nutmeg
  • Zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1 sprig of sage
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 cups of chicken stock 
  • A few strips of thick cut back cut into one inch pieces or lardons if available
  • Handful of spinach per person

I sautéed in olive oil the onions with the sage, salt and pepper, and half of the ginger. When soft I added in the butternut squash and the apples, the nutmeg and the rest of the ginger and let that cook for a bit to brown. I then added the stock and mixed it all up before pressure cooking the soup for 10 minutes. Once releasing the steam, I put in the lemon zest and juice and puréed the mixture with my immersion blender. It tastes outstanding. But to make it more of a meal, I cooked some bacon to put on top after pouring the soup over the spinach. Majorly delish and so quick with the instant pot. 

Leave a comment