Last Minute Meatballs

I had forgotten to go to the grocery store, as is my wont, and needed to figure out something quick. I knew I had ground beef but I didn’t have the onion or tomato paste for my favorite meatloaf. It was chilly and I didn’t want to go outside for grilling, so no burgers. I then remembered that I had a “bag” of Hak’s One Pot Sauce in Korean BBQ and could whip up some meatballs using my Instant Pot. The house smelled amazing even three hours later when I went to bed. And it was as deeeeeelish as it smelled.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package grass fed ground beef
  • 1 cup of dried mixed mushrooms soaked for 15 minutes in hot water
  • 1/4 cup of ground flax seed
  • 1/4 cup of panko breadcrumbs
  • salt / pepper
  • splash of red wine
  • 1 egg
  • 1 package of Hak’s One Pot Sauce in Korean BBQ

Instructions:

Mince drained mushrooms with hand blender and red wine. In bowl, mix beef, mushrooms, flax, panko, egg, 2 tablespoons of the Hak’s sauce, and salt and pepper.

Gently roll into 1.5″ balls.

Heat Instant Pot in saute mode until hot. Add olive oil generously to coat pan (these stick). Saute (in batches if necessary) meatballs, about 2 minutes on each side. Once all are seared, add them back to the Instant Pot, pour in remaining Hak’s sauce and close lid. Turn Instant Pot to Manual 10 minutes (ensure the valve is closed) an wait. Once the time is up, take off the top and leave on the counter in “stay warm” mode for 30 minutes, letting the sauce cook down, pouring the sauce over the meatballs occasionally.

Serve over rice or cauliflower rice or vegetables. It went well with a crisp cabbage and kale side salad.

Leave a Reply

