Scrambled eggs with sausage and kale: AKA A quick and easy dinner for one when the hubs is away

Last night I was on my own for dinner…this rarely happens. And it was glorious. I watched bad television and ate the below yummy-ness by myself and put as much cheese on it as I wanted! The hubs was gone and the au pair was out with friends. And it was just ME.

You see, hubs isn’t the biggest fan of cheese. And I LOVE cheese. And I usually use nights when he is gone to cook with garlic. But by myself? I didn’t really feel like making a big production. So I used up the last of the sundried tomato chicken sausage, a few fronds of kale (is fronds the right word? branches?), three eggs and feta. LOTS and lots of feta.

Ingredients:

  • Two links of sun-dried tomato chicken sausage
  • Four fronds of dinosaur kale
  • Three medium eggs
  • 1/2 cup of feta

As the chicken sausage has so little fat in it, I had to add some oil to the pan first. I chopped the sausage into bite size pieces and threw them into the hot pan. I stemmed the kale and chopped it into tiny pieces and threw them into the pan, as well. When the sausage was cooked through and browning, I cracked three eggs directly into the pan and stirred them with my wooden spoon to do a quick scramble. When the eggs were firming up, I dumped in the feta and stirred until just melted and mixed in. It was crazy quick, majorly easy and truly delicious. Would have paired well with a big glass of cold rosé had I had a bottle open.

Image

Leave a Reply

