Ginger lime chicken with leeks and broccolini

M was out with some buddies for dinner the other night and the girls were out with some friends so I was home cooking for myself. I didn’t feel like doing TOO much but felt like I wanted a little zing with a lot of veg. 

Chicken:

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breast tenders
  • 3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • the juice of 1 large lime
  • about a tablespoon of freshly grated ginger
  • salt and pepper
  • a dash of olive oil (you can add a bit of sesame oil, too, if you’d like)
  • 1 leek
  • 1/2 of a yellow onion, chopped

In a glass bowl I put the soy sauce, honey, lime juice, salt and pepper, and olive oil. I pulled my knob of ginger out of the freezer where I keep it in a zip lock and grate a knob over the marinade. I whisk it for a second, separate and reserve two tablespoons of the mixture and then let it sit while I prepare the leek. I chopped off the green ends and the bottom portion of the leek, left only with the whites, and cut them into thin, long strips. I then placed those strips and the tenders in the marinade while I prepared the broccolini.

Image

I rinsed the broccolini and then put it in a bamboo steamer to steam on low heat until bright green.

Image

When the broccolini was finished, I turned off the heat and let them sit, uncovered, on the stovetop while I cooked the chicken. It goes pretty quickly so do this maybe 10 minutes before you want to eat. This is best served quickly and warm because of the saucey, caramelized bits.

In a heavy bottomed saute pan over med-high heat, warm a teaspoon of olive oil. Once glistening, add the onions and cook for a minute until they are starting to become translucent. Push them to the side of the pan and, using tongs, add the chicken and leeks to the pan.  

Once the chicken is browning slightly, flip the chicken and pour on the reserved marinade. Make sure to mix the onions and leeks into the marinade as well. Using a insta-read thermometer, pull them off the heat at 160ish as they will continue to cook once you take them off the heat. Mix the pieces together on the bottom of the pan as the marinade will have caramelized and is DEVIIIINE.

Image

Squeeze a lemon over the broccolini and add a few thinly sliced pats of butter (more like a shave). I also shook a tiny bit of parm over the veg. Then put two tenders on a place with the leeks and onions on top. Et voila! The chicken was SPECTACULAR. Succulent, savory, a bit of zing from the ginger and a little smidge of sweet, too. The broccolini was hearty and yummy. Quite a good meal for a lady on her own 🙂

Image

One thought on “Ginger lime chicken with leeks and broccolini

  1. Pingback: A veg-tastic dinner: Braised kale, leeks and chickpeas AND Mast-o-khiar with sauteed beets | Suhlizi's Guide To the Recipes My Family Loves

Leave a Reply

